Why become a member? ×

First real recording attempt

Mornats

Hi folks, this is my first real recording attempt that I'm using to learn how to mix properly.

I'm a bassist not a guitarist so the guitar bits are fairly basic. There's something not quite right about the mix in my opinion, I think it lacks some weight (if that makes sense?). Any and all advice and comments will be taken on board. :)

[attachment=78843:FunkinghellRemix.mp3]

Some details of how it was recorded if anyone is interested:

[b]Hardware:[/b]
Bass Collection SB315 5 string bass
Ibanez GRX70 guitar
Guitar Rig Studio interface
M-Audio Keyrig 49 midi keyboard

[b]Software:[/b]
GarageBand
Guitar Rig (custom settings to get close to an Ampeg SVX sound)
EZDrummer with GrooveMonkee midi tracks and Funkmasters addon
Kore Player

Not bad at all for a first attempt!

Your bass sounds best out of the various elements in the mix - I'd expect nothing less from a bassist! ;-) - and generally needs the least work doing to it. The rest of the instrumentation could certainly be improved. The guitar isn't great and needs to be separated in the mix and given more space (if that makes sense?); a very simple way to do this would be to pan the guitar track slightly left or right to help separate it from the drums 'n' bass, which are currently grouped in the centre of the mix. The guitar also sounds very 'muddy' and perhaps needs re-recording or brightening up with FX.