Why become a member? ×

hi basschat

ngombe

Hi everyone.

I discovered bassworld shortly before it crashed out of existance, eventually got round to registering for basstalk just before the announced closure, and now finally I get round to posting my introduction here on the new new site. Just goes to show how a bit of strategic laziness can pay off.

Now I'm here I'd like to include a few odds and ends in my introduction..

firstly - thanks for the opportunity to post - I can see the trouble you guys have been through to get this site up. Appreciated.

secondly - a bit about me and my bass history. I've been playing on and off for nearly 25 years (first bass was a cheap P copy when I was 16). Pretty much stopped in my mid 20s when family took over. It's only been a few years since I started taking it seriously again and have re-learned most of my technique in order to accomodate my changing musical tastes. I now play fingerstyle (and occasional slap) in the funk / soul / pop genres more than my original pick based post-punk noise.

being a bit older also means I've got a bit more disposable cash (or I did have until...):
EBMM 'Ray (couldn't live without it )
Ashdown MK 500 amp (by far the best amp I've ever owned)
Cort A5 (nice thru-neck 5 string and less than £500 new)
Ashdown ABM cabs
pod xt pro

and amongst my backup / practice / for sale gear is
US Fender P bass (never quite got on with it)
EBMM SUB (great bass but obviously superceeded by the ray)
Ashdown ABM300 head (for the rockier sound)

I'm currently between bands, although I have a couple of 'projects' on the go and a regular weekly jam. Last year I played for a friend who headlined the Birmingham 'women in music' festival, but the band dissolved shortly after that.
I'd describe myself as 'intermediate' - I can pick up and join in with most popular music. I still have the odd lesson to keep me improving and I practice most days so hopefully I'm getting better.