Why become a member? ×

Ampeg b3158 combo - turn into speaker cab?

bigjohn

Hi all, I've posted this in the amps & cabs forum too - but then I thought it might be best in here...

This is just a thought - I've never done anything like this before - so I'm asking some questions before I'll consider it viable.

I have an Ampeg B3158 Combo. It's really a well constructed heavy Ampeg cab. It tilt's back onto 2 casters, and has handles each side and one on the top for lifting. Great. Not only that - but it fits snug into the boot of my car length, height and breadth (vw polo) - So snug I can shut the boot, and leave the parcel shelf in.
Anyway, I digress. It's a biamped 150W B3 head (one 50W and one 100w, although I have a feeling there's 3 power amps sections) - One 8" 50w 4ohm driver and a 15" 150w (according to the parts list) 8ohm Woofer.

For those who don't know what these combos look like - here's a picture.

Mine's an older one - looks far more "classic" Ampeg than that. More like a thin, tall svt15e speaker cab with a built in head.

So - I decided to get a new rig. I've decided I want an svt3-pro, which is good. That bit's done. (I think!)

Now the problem comes with the cab. I would really like to be able fit a cab in the boot of my car - parcel shelf down.

So - I got to thinking - Why not take the head out of my B3158. An svt3-pro head might even fit the hole left, I've checked the dimensions and it's pretty close...

Then replace the 15" and 8" speakers with new 8ohm ones - making it a 4ohm cab and getting the full 450W from the svt.

I reckon the combo is worth £350+ it's in really good nick. Which would be enough to put towards an ampeg b15 and some sort of 2x10.

If I did the upgrades, the speakers would cost about £100?? which would be about the same price as me selling the combo and buying 2 new cabs (£350-£400). But then I'd be stuck with transportation issues.

So basically the choice is -