Why become a member? ×

Should I go for it?

Finbar

So we've had a tutor at college for the last few months, who is leaving in about two weeks. As he's leaving, he asked to have a word with me, and he asked if I'd dep for his band. It's a covers band, for functions and that sort of thing, so it won't cross over with my 'proper' band creatively.

Basically, I just don't know what to expect from it. I'm 19, and this kind of thing hasn't crossed my mind, so I've no experience of it. So any warnings/encouragements and stuff on the matter?

In theory, I'd love to do it, if only for the experience. I have all the gear for it and I'm good enough to learn the repertoire (though I'll hate a lot of it). And of course, I'd love the money ;)

But on top of another originals band which is trying to make something of itself, and a full time college course with a lot of work I have to do in my own time, I'm not sure I can do it. Though again, I don't know what to expect from it, including the workload - it might be easily possible.

I'm going to have a more indepth chat with him soon (he just mentioned it very offhand and briefly earlier today), but anything you guys say in the meantime is appreciated :)

Just so you know, the guy who asked is Joel White, son of Frank White. Apparently he's semi-famous or something :huh: I don't know ;) Toured with Pulp and Finlay Quaye, but more importantly he's a really really good pianist/keyboardist. I'd be worried I wouldn't be up to what he's used to in his world of session musicians!

www.joelwhite.co.uk is the guy anyway.

Still do it....