Why become a member? ×

Pots - Explain them to me please

markdavid

Hi,

I have just aquired an Aria P Bass which I plan on upgrading a little (new pickups , bridge etc) .
I intend on replacing the tone and volume pot , however I know and understand very,very little about pots. There seems to be so many different types and I dont understand any of the the terminology (Split shaft , CTS , Audio/Linear Taper, Mini pot).
My understanding is that a tone and a volume pot are the same thing (eg if you buy two of the same pot you can use one for volume and one for tone) is this correct.
Can anybody point me in the right direction as to what pots I need to use for a P Bass as I am baffled , also if you know of anywhere that you can recommend I purchase from that would be very helpful.
Sorry if I sound like an idiot but im a bit of a noob when it comes to this kind of thing , thanks in advance for any input you may have

Terminology:

Split shaft - have a ribbed exterior and take press on knobs. The shaft is split down the middle, and the two parts can be squeezed together slightly if the knob is a bit of a tight fit.
Solid shaft - smooth exterior. They require knobs that have a grub screw that tightens through the body of the knob and onto the shaft
CTS - manufacturer of pots, used by Fender (I think?)
Audio taper - the value of the pot progresses in a logarithmic fashion (half the travel of the pot does not correspond to half its value). All you need to know is that these are the ones to get, as their operation is closer to what human ears perceive
Linear taper - the value of the pot increases/decreases directly with the adjustment of the pot. To human ears, this will give something of an "all or nothing" response. Basically, don't use these in a guitar :)
Mini pot - well, if your control cavity is small, these might work better than standard size pots.

Yes, you use the same type of pot for volume and tone (log/audio taper).