Why become a member? ×

Acoustic Bass Help

Ghost Rider

Hello fellow bass players,

I may have chance to get an acoustic bass & I am pretty new to bass playing so does anyone know anything about the Ibanez AGB140 semi acoustic.
I have read a few reviews but wondered if anyone out there had one & could give an honest opinion of what it is like to play & how well made they are.
I am looking for an acoustic to keep handy around the house.
The chap selling it wants £180 which I thought was a bit steep as you can get a new one for £235 but it does come with a hard case.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

[quote name='Ghost Rider' post='139930' date='Feb 13 2008, 10:46 PM']Hello fellow bass players,

I may have chance to get an acoustic bass & I am pretty new to bass playing so does anyone know anything about the Ibanez AGB140 semi acoustic.
I have read a few reviews but wondered if anyone out there had one & could give an honest opinion of what it is like to play & how well made they are.
I am looking for an acoustic to keep handy around the house.
The chap selling it wants £180 which I thought was a bit steep as you can get a new one for £235 but it does come with a hard case.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.[/quote]

I don't know that model but it does sound steep in terms of new/used price ratio. You could probably find better value elsewhere. [url="http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Ibanez-AEB10E-Electric-Acoustic-Bass_W0QQitemZ220199278987QQihZ012QQcategoryZ4713QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem"]This Ibanez AEB10E [/url]went for £100 which seems more like it.

Also, if you want it to have handy around the house then the hardcase is not much of a selling point is it?

A hard case can come very much in handy just in case you want to take it anywhere on its own to play unplugged.
I probably wouldn't buy an acoustic without one because a good fitting case can be hard to find due to the various shaped.