Why become a member? ×

Will a double bass fit in my car?

jazzyvee

I'm watching a few double basses on ebay at the moment and hopefully will get one of them.
I have no experience with them at all and am looking for one to learn on.
But my question is can anyone tell me if it will fit into my car.
I have no idea of the length of a double bass but my car is a 2004, 7 Series BMW. The Standard Wheelbase model not the Long Wheelbase version.

Thanks

Jazzyvee

[quote name='jazzyvee' post='1237474' date='May 19 2011, 09:56 PM']I have no idea of the length of a double bass but my car is a 2004, 7 Series BMW.[/quote]

Never had a 7 but I've had plenty of 5-series Beemers. My DB will fit fairly easily in the back of a 5-series Touring (i.e. estate) but I wouldn't think it stood a chance of fitting in a saloon.

Definitely try before you buy.

I started a similar thread a while back if it helps: [url="http://basschat.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=117525&hl=transporting"]http://basschat.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=...hl=transporting[/url]

It seemed that the most people can fit it into whatever car by reclining the passenger seat, and putting the bass in head first. If that works in a ford KA you'll probably be fine.

[quote name='jbn4001' post='1237503' date='May 19 2011, 10:18 PM']I can get one in a Ford Ka with the seats down. Neck sits between driver and passenger seats mind, but it works fine for me.[/quote]

This. Easy.

If it's not a hatchback then I'd try it first.

+1 on folding the front seat, you just have to make sure it goes through the doors.

My mate has a 406 and I can't fit a 3/4 db with small shoulders through the door openings