Why become a member? ×

What would you do?

Brandonh

Ok so, Im 16 I could get a job this summer at a plastic factory and make 9.50 A hour and I would be working 9 hours a day everyday but sunday and I have it calculated that by the end of the summer I could easily have a Made in America Fender jazz Along with a Nice ampeg 800 watt amp and a 1000 watt ampeg head. I woulent have much time to play and I would be dead tired considering this is alot of work.

My friends are telling me to just not get a job and play with what I have.

I have been playing for 8 months. I have a MIM fender precision with a badass bridge two and seymour duncans. I have a 300 watt half stack peavey amp.

Now should I stay home and get better or buy equipment for the future?

I got a summer job when I was 16. then another one at 17. by 18 I had to start working part-time yearlong (needed the money). You do miss out on some stuff (you cant waste your summer doing nothing like the cool kids :huh:), and it's hard on you both physically and mentally.

In the end it's all about goals. If you really want it badly, go for it. It will make you grow, and you'll earn money of your own :huh: However, you might consider working part-time - at least that way you'll have more free time for yourself/hang out with friends AND will still earn a few quid. You probably wont be able to buy that rig, but you might consider a cheaper rig or no rig at all for now (and you'd get to save the money) Besides, you've been playing for 8months - I'd get A LOT more experience and try out other different brands before I would commit to buy such a monstrous rig. Oh, and BTW, do you really need all that power? O.o I've got a 200W head and its more than enough for my small gigs :)

Go and do the job. When you get home make sure you put an hour aside for structured practice. You'll probably accomplish 10x more than you would in a day's worth of nooding in your bedroom.