Why become a member? ×

Takamine TB-10

malcolm.mcintyre

I have been considering on of these for months as I have two new band projects on the horizon that need an acoustic bass sound. I am a bass guitarist, and although I also have a cheap double bass am pretty hopeless on it as I find it too physicaly demanding an instument to dip in and out of. I also find double bass fingering much more tiring when trying to play fast. I couldn't find much info about the TB10 so thought I would add my impressions.
I initially looked at various EUBs in "proper" 40" scale, liked the Yamaha SLB200, certainly easier than my acoustic DB to play. Then I saw the Takamine TB10 on the web. I liked the sound clips I found on the Thomann site. Couldn't find one to try in the UK, so eventuall bought it untried on the internet.
I am very impressed. The sound from the cool-tube pre-amp is great, much more double-bass like than my actual DB from its Shadow pick-up. The look and finish are excellent, provided you dont mind the very Takamine satin laquer look. The neck is very deep, and quite DB in profile, and I think this is what gives the good tone. Action is high, like the Yamaha SLB, with a very radiused fingerboard. Again this allows a more DB playing style, getting more energy into the stings for the right sound, but intonation is much more intuitive for a regular bass guitarist.
Takamine say you can bow it, but while I found it just possible, the bridge radius and body cutaways make it very difficult. I don't think I could bow it at a gig.
The design is clearly directed to upright playing, like an EUB, but I have found no difficulty playing it sitting in guitar mode, and actually prefer it that way. I am going to fit a strap button to the heel of the neck, because it feels like it will balance ok, and the body isn't too bulky. Having said that, this is a BIG bass guitar, the case looks plenty scary when you first see it because it is so deep.