Why become a member? ×

The Bass Unicorn?

tylerlangan

Excuse this topic if I've just gone temporarily mental with a level exam stress but after a sleepless night last night I think I need to talk to some kidnered spirits about this particular aspect of the beloved baritone world of the bass guitar.

First of all, I have very little money.. as I'm a student, all of this does however change next year when I go on my gap year (well, I say 'go' by 'go I mean stick around and get a job... and I've been offered one with a very nice sallary for minimal work so all is veryy good) and I was just wondering how many of us have actually FULLY succumbed to G.A.S and just leapt in and bought our dream instrument perhaps before we've 'earned' it? (I'm not sure I put any stock in the concept of 'I'm not good enough to play this/that yet)

I really really love the two basses I have at the moment, a Korean Fender Jazz Bass 24 and a Musicman SUB but I just can't help but feel they're not as authentic as they could be... I mean when I play the jazz I feel like I long for an american and when I play the SUB I feel like I long for a stingray..

But the one thing I've longed for a very very very long time is a Warwick Corvette, after having played a friends around a year ago I simply fell in love with their looks, feel, tough... just everything about them sends me giddy; I've even bought fellow bass players many a pint simply because they own one and I've wanted to twist their ear off about one!!

But I digress,

My big problem is do I spend the £1200 on my dream 5 string neck through corvette $$ (which I've heard in real life and literally went to an auraul heaven) or do I save my money for more sensible things like living through uni?
As I'm not the best at saving anyway I think that if I did invest the money in the corvette then at least it would some real value rather than just buying useless things that wouldn't.
[attachment=555:__bubV_1.jpg]