Why become a member? ×

Defining bass tones from origins to present

Scorchin

[i]If you don't want to read the introduction and get straight to it, find the question below (in bold)[/i]

I've always thought that I've got a fairly broad range of music types to get my inspiration from, however I don't feel confident setting up my bass tone to fit differing styles of music. Being a beginner student, I don't have a lot to work with in comparison to some of the gear w**res on the forum due to cash issues. However, I'm asking you, the BassChat faithful, to help me alter settings on a simple setup to produce these styles.

[b]Using just a Simple Bass (Squire P-Bass?), a MAX of 1 pedal and a low-end bass amp, how would you emulate bass tones through the ages?[/b]

Any input is greatly appreciated. I'm up for anything to help me figure out my ideal bass tone!

P.S. Started as a result of reading Beedsters recent [url="http://basschat.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=14725"]thread[/url].

You'll find that near impossible without two basses - one strung with flatwounds (1952 - 65) and the other with roundwounds (1965 - date).

You'll never get near the sound of Macca on a Hofner violin bass or Jamerson's P-bass without flatwounds.

[quote name='Happy Jack' post='151496' date='Mar 5 2008, 08:01 AM']You'll find that near impossible without two basses - one strung with flatwounds (1952 - 65) and the other with roundwounds (1965 - date).

You'll never get near the sound of Macca on a Hofner violin bass or Jamerson's P-bass without flatwounds.[/quote]

I disagree, you can do amazing things with palm muting and thumb plucking. Another good trick is to use a five and drop down a string and up five frets for more boom and wooliness.

Just spend ages experimenting with different plucking, fretting and muting techniques and you'll build up a huge library of sounds which can all come from one instrument without any knob twiddling. Listening is the key!

Alex