Why become a member? ×

Boiling Strings

tangodown87

I've boiled my dead strings for years, but I've always added a drop of washing up liquid in the pan when doing so...it just works to degrease the strings (and leaves the pan super shiny too, win win). On the subject of meths, my brother is a chef by profession and swears by using meths on his stainless steel stuff (knives, hobs, extractor etc.), but remember it's VERY aggressive and will strip oils and finishes from wood, so I wouldn't even recommend a wipe down with meths. Never tried vinegar in the boil-process. Next time maybe.
P

[quote name='Booooooom' timestamp='1321920424' post='1444532']
+1 for meths. I recommend making one of [url="http://www.tunemybass.com/strings/bass_string_cleaning_tube.html"]these[/url].
In addition, I'd thread a short length of drinking straw/tubing over the headstock windings to straighten and bind which makes getting the strings into the tube much easier. Also, run the strings through a clean cloth/piece of kitchen roll as you withdraw them from the tube so you don't splash meths about. Works a treat :)
[/quote]
+1 on this!

I used to boil and the zing comes back for about half a gig and then suddenly its gone again. The main thing that boiling achieves is agitating the strings, you can do this in meths and they won't go rusty! I have sweat like battery acid and I've been experimenting for years to try and get through more than two gigs on a set of strings!

Meths works a treat (24 hours MAX) and has the advantage that you're not heating then cooling - which affects the elasticity of the string, and also not exposing to water which speeds up the oxidization process immensely. Washing up liquid does degrease, but you don't need to boil for the degreasing.