Why become a member? ×

Yamaha 02R Digital Mixing Desk..

VTypeV4

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/photobucket-fixer/

IF YOU'RE USING MOOZILLA FIREFOX THEN USE THE ABOVE FIX TO RESTORE IMAGES - SIMIILAR ADD-ONS ARE AVAILABLE FOR OTHER BROWSERS.

I've been a pro live sound engineer for more than ten years and have used many an analogue desk working in venues and for various pro-audio companies. However.. Inspite of this experience, I've always worked for someone else using their system and their desk. All of these have been analogue desks from dinky 8 channel Mackie and Spirit boards up to Soundcraft Series Two and Allen & Grief ML5000s.

I want my own desk!

I have used a Mackie D8B which was OK but I just didn't quite love it. I also tried a Soundcraft 328XD which was very easy to use but I've read these have a number of issues. Which leaves me with Yamaha. I have no problems Yam stuff, The analogue desks are fine as are the outboard rack units, power amps, speakers etc. Oh and the bikes are quite good too!

I'm looking to invest about £700 into a 'sorted' 02R as it looks to suit my requirements and if I decide that digital isn't for me, it can go back on eBay..!

Any peeps have experience with the 02R as a live mixing console?

Edited by VTypeV4

I havent used an 02r live, but I have owned and used the 01v92 on many a euro tour and the eq and routing are pretty similar.
You can get a pretty decent gig out of them, the eq is fine and the pre-amps are ok for live, though you can add more via the adat interface.
I used the Focusrite presonus ones for the "money chans".
The routing is good and the soft patching means you can do tricks like send one input to two chans for routing to FOH and Mon with seperate eq and dynamics.