Why become a member? ×

NS revelation

Guest subaudio

Guest subaudio

I bought an NSCR5 about two years ago now and absolutley love it, moving from electric bass to electric upright meant I needed to learn some new techniques so I found a double bass teacher.

As soon as I got my hands on a double bass there was no turning back, I knew I had found the instrument for me, I have been playing double bass for about six months now and as I slowly make progress on it I found myself playing the NS less as it felt quite different to upright (the sound was always awesome though), but last night I raised the action quite a lot and it feels great ! I can really dig in and get a great double bass sound and feel, I was considering buying something else so I had consitency between EUB and double bass, but with a few turns of an alan key I have saved myself a small fortune :)

Hah ... I just passed on a reasonably priced CR4M (didn't sound uprighty enough for me) and bought [url="http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=150119117990"]THIS[/url] instead as my way into the upright world. Looks like I might have done the wrong thing ...

... or not ... I guess I can always get my EUB later.

Andy

Guest subaudio

Cool, if you havent played DB before I would highly recomend getting a teacher, its a different animal to electric bass altogether, and it will save a lot of time too, enjoy your new bass :)

My first DB had a fingerboard the same as yours, if you sand it down to key the surface (light grade paper) and use ebony wood stain it will come up really nicely, dont take the strings off though.

Edited by subaudio

Hi Subaudio,