Why become a member? ×

This is why I can't get excited about bass amps

I've been playing bass in a band for about 18 months, probably done 25 shows, we support 95% of the time so I haven't gotten around to getting a bass amp yet, but I'm constantly looking. Having come from playing guitar, I have a big love for tube amps and guitar tone - but bass amps just don't thrill me.

Here's why. Tonight I played through one of these:

A Behringer Ultrabass. And a DI.

It sounded fantastic.

I have a nice bass that sounds amazing DI'd so all I need is a something that I can hear on stage. Why bother dropping a grand on a bass amp when this cheap thing does the job just fine? I just don't get it. I WANT to like bass amps, I started the '70s bass amps' thread to find out more about cool vintage bass amps, only to find out there are none. I really can't get into bass amps and I think it's throwing me into some sort of existential crisis. Or maybe that's just the beer.

If you're always using PA & playing covers where the bass blends in to the point of no one knowing it's there, then anything as a stage monitor is all you need. Whether it be that Behringer or just an active wedge.

If you play venues where you need your own rig to provide the low end, that's when things can start to get interesting. Whether it be going for a rock tone, something for DnB or anything else, there's a whole load of rigs to choose from at all prices.

First thing you need to do is stop thinking like a guitarist! Do you think like a drummer when you go to play keys? It's about finding the gear that's gonna move things the way you want them to. As you're going through PA, then you'd probably be wiser spending your money on Basses and FX.