Why become a member? ×

Guitar strings after bass...

MacDaddy

I'm a bassist, but I'm playing guitar in a band - [url="http://www.junkyarddogslondon.co.uk"]www.junkyarddogslondon.co.uk[/url] if you're interested ;) - point is, when I was just a guitarist, the strings I used were 10's and I remember thinking they were [b]thick[/b].

Having been a bassist I now use 11's. I'd use 12's but I often bend the G string and haven't found a pack that doesn't have a wound G.

10's feel so sloppy, and 9's are just unplayable!

I'm currently using D'Addario 10-52s. Nice and chunky at the bottom and still bendable at the top. TBH I'd consider going heavier at the bottom (54/56) including a wound G (20) if it didn't mean making up really expensive custom sets.

[quote name='Dom in Somerset' timestamp='1335902562' post='1637876']
It's the feel under the fretting hand that's all wrong. I play a 12 string for writing songs, pairs of strings feel much more comfortable to me.
[/quote]

Ditto that :¬)

A

The problem is that for a 12's set, a plain G would have to be something like a 20, which has absolutely no flexibility and just goes "clunk." I even tried one as the octave E string for my Rick 12 to try to see if it would intonate with the wound low E, but it was a mess tonally.

D'addario makes their 11-49 set with either an 18 plain or a 21 wound, the EXL115 or EXL115W, and as a bassist I have found this to be the most versatile set for general electric guitar work without having to worry about "feel" switching back and forth.

D'Addarios are my favourite guitar strings. Don't like their bass strings much though.

If you do find you like them you can get triple packs of their string sets for only slightly more than 2 single sets.

Edited by BigRedX

[quote name='iiipopes' timestamp='1335923335' post='1638202']