Why become a member? ×

Silver/Golden Slaps trial set - please read "Innovation trial sets" before posting

daflewis

Post a reply to register your interest in a trial set....

SILVER/GOLDEN SLAPS
A clear round wound nylon coated string that comes with a silver or golden "hue". A bit thicker than the rockabillys but with lower tension, they also finger pizz well with a nice toppy click at the front end. Under the bow they are quite breathy and a bit scratchy. Very popular with slap players.

bremen *
steve *
noojb *
Bassinmyface *
TheRev *
alistair Sutcliffe *
Jhowhdheyieh *
cattytown *
spencer b *
Burg*
JimmySims - no longer interested
Bassbadger
Monster
rockabillybob1
eubassix

Edited by daflewis

I'd really like to try a set, subject to your agreeing there's a possibility that they'd be right for me.

I'm new to EUB, playing a Stagg. I also play fretless bg and would like a sound more like an upright than fretless. I don't slap.

The sound closest to what I'm after (and I know this might be a big ask from a cheap electric and a novice) is Greg Cohen's playing on Tom Wait's stuff such as Step Right Up and A Soldier's Things.

Thanks!

Hi Bremen,
It's funny, I was wondering about the Stagg EUBs, as they're so popular now...

As for the sound you're after - that's a great sound, and a big ask! but of all the innovation sets it's probably going to get you closest.... Endorka was after something similar on an NS Designs - see the topic "innovation string for jazz and arco" - i't might be worth asking her how she's getting on with them... but on the other hand, it'll only cost you the postage to try them anyway! (just checking - the stagg does't use a magnetic pickup does it? - the innovation strings won't work with a mag)

Cheers,
Daf

Hello Daf,
I'd very much like to try a set of these too, I'm mainly playing blues with a bit of jive thrown in here and there on an upright with piezo pickup, so I assume these strings would be ok with my setup.

Cheers
Steve

Hi Steve,