Why become a member? ×

NEW RICKENBACKER 4003 BASSES

geofio

hi guys , has anyone else had the experience that i have been having with new 4003 basses?? i had the money to buy a brand new 4003 went into a shop in glasgow, they had 8 brand new rickenbacker,s including special edition walnut burst models, i was offered a very good cash deal on any rickenbacker that i wanted, so i was keen to buy one!! every single one of those basses was not up to standard, i have been playing these basses for 30 years, and understand the sound they should make. these new ones had terrible E strings they did not sound right or feel right, it was almost as if the strings were muted. i was very keen to find a good one out of that lot, even the guy in the store was amazed. no decent basses out of 8 brand new rickenbacker basses. what is going on at rickenbacker does no one test these basses out before they leave the plant!!!! as you guys know i am a rickenbacker fan, but i am shocked at these new basses. to buy one of these , you would never have had to have experience with them as that is the only way they will sell them, i have checked the stock from the shop in glasgow and it remains the same , none have been sold. i picked up a fantastic used 4003 2006 model and it plays as it should, nice piano like ring to every string.does anyone else share my thoughts out there??? cheers

I checked the midnight blue one they had a while ago. It didn't seem too bad. Perhaps that's why it was first to go. Have you looked at the midnight blue 4003 in the other shop nearby? Check out the bubbled chrome plating on the bridge. Very poor QC at RIC was what I thought to myself.

CB