Why become a member? ×

Warwick Streamer and Corvette

dazco

I have the opportunity to buy a Warwick Corvette for £250. It has 2 pick ups on.

I also have my heart set on a Streamer Std, that has one pickup.

Is there a lot of difference between the Corvette and the Streamer Std?

Thanks

Well I was just going to point out that difference. The Corvette has two single coil Jazz pickups which are in different positions to the Streamers lone single coil pickup. The different positions and pickups will give different tones. Roughly jazz vs musicman in sound, although I have no real experience in this matter.

Might get a better response in bass guitars?

[quote name='The Funk' post='19789' date='Jun 18 2007, 06:10 PM']Get the Corvette for £250. Unless it's a Rockbass Corvette.[/quote]
Thankf for all your replies.

The corvette is red, the streamer is natural and 3 times better looking.

here is the spec for the streamer
4 string
* Single Passive EMG soapbar pickup
* Brass frets (24)
* Adjustable nut
* 3 piece ovankol neck
* Wenge fretboard
* Carolena body
* Natural finish
* Chrome Warwick hardware
* Made in Germany (1999 serial number)
* Serial Number L ****** 99 verified by Warwick as a genuine Streamer STD (I have the mails from their support desk)

I will be playing rock type music

AFAIK the other difference would be the Corvette standard has the Warwick two piece bridge and the streamer doesnt. I used to have a Streamer Standard and it was a superb basses, one of the best necks I've ever played. If you dont mess with switching PuPs I would say get the Streamer.

[quote name='Machines' post='19786' date='Jun 18 2007, 06:05 PM']Depends on the Steamer - some Streamers come in all sorts of pickup configs including J/J. Probably isn't a huge difference in tone between Streamer LX and Corvette Standard (Ash).[/quote]