Why become a member? ×

pickups?

hi,
can anyone recommend a decent pickup for my double bass?
the bass is a cheapo!! so i dont think i need to worry to much about bringing out every suttle nuance of the wood!!!!
im new to the world of upright so id like something thats forgiving to my dodgy playing technique :)

not asking for much am i ?? :huh:

cheers

[quote name='groove machine' post='190224' date='May 2 2008, 06:29 AM']hi,
can anyone recommend a decent pickup for my double bass?
the bass is a cheapo!! so i dont think i need to worry to much about bringing out every suttle nuance of the wood!!!!
im new to the world of upright so id like something thats forgiving to my dodgy playing technique :)

not asking for much am i ?? :huh:

cheers[/quote]
Two p/ups that are usually highly recommended are the Underwood (I recently sold one on the Forum) and the David Gage Realist. On eBay you will find lots of other cheaper makes but I don't know whether these are any good.

Over to someone else ....

Edited by Clarky

This could start a whole new discussion among the (few?) upright players on this site. You will find several differing opinions so here are mine.

David Gage realist is OK at relatively low volumes but at higher ones it seems to get a bit boomy. It is not particularly fedback resistant. It is quite easy to install - slacken the strings, lift the bridge and slip it under the E foot.

I've used an Underwood for many years and it is a good all-rounder. It has a good bottom and mids but is a bit weak on the highs; it can reproduce a honky sort of sound on the mids and highs. There are two pickups that slip between the bridge wings. On most bridges it is a matter of shimming to fit snugly but not too tight. On some others a bit more radical shaping is required to accept the pup. There is also a school of thought that does not recommend filling up the wing slots but letting them vibrate freely.