Why become a member? ×

Just ordered my first EUB total noob what have I done?!

stingrayPete1977

I have read a few posts and got some good advice from them already but most were more should I go for a DB or an EUB? threads or ended up that way anyway. I certainly have not got the room for a DB so thats easy and I drive a '57 Morris Minor saloon not traveller anyway. Over time who knows but for now EUB and not too much outlay so I'm afraid its a Stagg rather than a NS but I am happy to buy a better one if I can get a tune out of this one.

So where do I start? :)

And I mean literally, I have no idea!

First thing first. Get a lesson booked. There's bound to be a BCer that teaches DB in your area. It will be invaluable in getting your hand/arm positions correct and make it a lot easier from that point on. The larger left hand stretches will be a challenge but you will quickly adapt. Have fun!

I had a Stagg briefly. Its actually a very good EUB but its not 'the real deal'. If you have a hankering for a big old DB at some point (as I did) this will be just a (very useful) stop on the way. If you just want to stick to EUB then its obviously not up to the quality of a NS or similar but it is a remarkably good value-for-money instrument and you can do all your learning on it. If it works out and you love it, I bet you will look to upgrade but that would be the GAS monster as much as anything else!

Edited by Clarky

Short answer: yes. Double basses obviously are physically more challenging and the body/neck join demands different technique past E on the G string but the basic right hand technique will be identical and the hand stretches with the left hand in the lower positions will be near-identical (depending on how chunky the DB neck is)

Thats great then :)