Why become a member? ×

Strings (sorry!)

stingrayPete1977

OK I have been playing bass and guitar for over 25 years, I know my 9's from my flat wounds and my nylons from my G string :lol: but what the hell is going on here then?!

So far I am thinking weichs are low tension and mittels are medium after that I am getting a bit lost, gut I imagine is like nylon guitar string and can only be used with acoustic or piezo pickups.

Is there an idiots guide to everything anywhere, just the basics like the sizes and what they mean 3385 42W etc :o
common types and common uses for common basses?

In the near future I will be putting a set on my EUB and super silvers have been suggested along with spiro mediums or weichs (I presume medium and lights)

What am I doing :lol:

Thanks folks, Loving the upright though :)

Hi Pete, the basics are there are guts/gut-alikes (usually nylon) and there are steels. The former are generally more thumpy and old school, the latter have more growl and sustain and are generally better if you also like to bow. I tend to think of them (mega simplistically) as like flats and rounds in their characteristics. Only steels will work with mag pickups, whereas all strings work with piezos or contact mics.

Innovation make very good value gut-alike strings - Silver Slaps are mega low tension and incredibly easy on hands (good for slapping, and for pizz playing if your hands are not very strong), Super Silvers are still low tension but not floppy (so I am told). They also make higher tension strings (eg, Rockabillys etc).