Why become a member? ×

In Ear Monitors - help needed...

MoJoKe

[quote name='EBS_freak' timestamp='1430311901' post='2760119']
No worries - the SE215s will do the job... when you get some new multi driver customs, prepare for your socks to be blown off!

No amp on stage = win.
[/quote]

EW300 G3 ordered from Mercury for the double win !! First try tomorrow night (assuming it is delivered on time)

Thanks to Russ and his advice I have a shiny new EW300G3 in my rack. Tried it last night and was very impressed. Just need to get some new custom moulded in-ears and I'll be fully happy.

I'll be moving the remote antenna to the far left hand side when I get a longer RF cable

Edited by intime-nick

Good to know you've joined the in-ear team, you won't regret it.

I've been using the ACS Live customs for a couple of months (now called the Evolve Live) and they're great.
I like the fact that I can hear people talking to me on stage, and I leave them in for the interval but just turn the local volume up a bit. I can filter out the noisy juke box during the interval too :)

Before that I was using Shure SE524, which also worked really well.

Normally I'm wired as I have a QU-16 with a ME-1 personal monitor. Still trying to work out the best way to make the wiring tidy.

I also have an AKG IVM 4500 which I use when PA is provided by others.

Does anyone have any experience of the AKG? I wondered how it compares to the EW300-IEM-G3?

Cheers
Martin

Never played with the AKG - it's onboard DSP intrigues me though.

As for cabling the ME1, first thing to do is get a PoE injector to get rid of the PSU so you can have a single Ethernet cable. If you are running multiple ME1s it may be worthwhile investing in a PoE capable switch... OR maybe but a simple hub and an injector for each ME1 and power them using a daisy chain between each injector. Certainly save a lot of clutter around your ME1s.