Why become a member? ×

Zoom H4 help?

BassBod

I need some help with this - its a good little field recorder/usb audio interface. Like an Edirol, but with more built in stuff (mic simulations, effects etc). But when you record a .wav file (44.1khz,16 bit) it won't be recognised by (for example) Windows Media Player? This means you can't just copy files from the H4 to PC then burn a CD - you have to first copy them in/out of something like Audacity to get them to work??

I'm new to this digi stuff, and I just don't understand.. when is a .wav file not really a .wav file.....anyone got an explanation/fix?

cheers

BB

Yes, iTunes converts and plays fine, but not WMP (or Sonic Record). But, if you import/export (as wav) through Audacity the resulting wav files are fine - I guess something is done to them in the process that the H4 doesn't do when it creates them??

Seems very strange to me, but them I can't seem to load photos onto message boards anymore.....where's my bass..

BB

I've never had this problem before, but I might not have tried to record at that WAV quality yet. Have you checked that your Zoom is running the latest Firmware? Check the latest at [url="http://www.zoom.co.jp/english/download/software/h4.php"]http://www.zoom.co.jp/english/download/software/h4.php[/url]

I think there was a release a couple of months ago.

Thanks peted,

I've only had the H4 for a couple of days - it shows version 1.3 on startup, so I don't think any of the updates would apply. Still puzzled - had a look at a few Zoom discussion pages and there is no mention of this isuue? I suspect its as much about using better CD burners as the Zoom box?

BB