Why become a member? ×

Rarest bass ever ?

Prosebass

In 1983 I bough a Hofner S7B professional in preference to a Wal, it was £20.00 cheaper than the Wal at £229.00 sounded and played better.
I can only find reference to 1 other in existence [url="http://www.vintagehofner.co.uk/hofner/basses/bas26.html"]Hofner S7B[/url]
Does this make it the rarest production bass ever ? or are there more out there ?

[quote name='BigRedX' post='214350' date='Jun 7 2008, 02:02 PM']I tried the guitar version of that in the late 70s in a German music shop.

Would have bought it if I'd had the cash...[/quote]

They were expensive at the time I seem to remember having to take a loan on the bass ,it cost about 4 weeks wages...
Mind you I ripped the frets out after about 2 months and have never adjusted the neck in 25 years, quality wood.
The electronics have packed in on it and even though I am an electrical engineer by trade I cannot repair it.
Still works fine passively and the coil tap and phase switches still work fine, sounds more Jaco than Jaco....

[quote name='budget bassist' post='214519' date='Jun 7 2008, 06:04 PM']I wouldn't say it makes it the rarest ever, i've tried searching for some things on google and come up with absolutely nothing.[/quote]

I,m only encouraging debate and trying to find out if there are still some out there. What have you searched for and been unable to find ? I know of more 51 Precisions than my Hofner !

I honestly can't remember, though i do remember only coming up with probably one or two pages for my tobias toby pro 5b custom, i've just googled it again and most of the pages that do come up are mentions on talkbass, basschat and harmony central forums. There's only one photo of it comes up in google images too. I'm just saying, it's a pretty hard thing to judge, 'rarest production bass in the world' because obviously there's a lot of other fairly obscure stuff out there too.

Edited by budget bassist