Why become a member? ×

Which are the loudest?

Maude

I know I know, different basses, different players etc, but all things being equal which of the Innovation strings are the loudest would you say?
I mean played pizz not arco by the way.
The reason I ask is I played a gig this Saturday acoustically and I didn't feel I was keeping up with the two guitars, it may have been louder out front as being stood behind the damn thing seems to be the worst place be :D .
I'll add that I'm new to acoustic double bass, been playing EB for 20 years and EUB for just over a year. The EUB has whackers on and is obviously always amplified so copious volume on tap probably hasn't helped with technique and with better technique comes more volume.
I ordered my new acoustic bass with Rockabillys on as I'd hoped they would be similar in sound to the whackers on the EUB (which work very well) but with more tension and a bit more refinement, which they are, just not particularly loud. Saying that the D and G are pack more punch than the E and A so it could be bridge related. I did sand the bridge feet on the bass so they sit better as I wasn't happy with how they were when I got it, I'm pretty hands on and enjoy doing this sort of thing so no biggy.
The gig was in an underground cavern so strange, but very good acoustics.
Anyway I'm going off on a tangent now, back to the original question, which Innovation strings would be louder than the Rockabillys, does more tension necessarily mean more volume, I doubt it's that simple.
I've put my name down to try the Honeys and I'll probably try the Ultras after that as they seem like my kind of thing.

Hi Allan,
Good question! :)
Well, yes, tension is probably the biggest factor; so the ultras, which are basically a higher tension version of the Rockabillies will be louder, and the same goes for super silvers which are a higher tension silver slap (don't write them off because it says "slap" - its a really nice pizz string)