Why become a member? ×

Grades late in (musical) life?

fatback

Have any of you taken grades in upright (or any other instrument for that matter) late on? Was it worth the effort?

It occurred to me as a way of motivating myself for this bowing business. I'm slogging away, but with no prospect of ever needing to bow in the music I play it's in danger of seeming pointless.

What do you think? A waste of time or an invaluable structure? A good excuse for going back to lessons?

Thanks for ya thoughts. :)

Hi,
As a matter of fact I have: like many bass players I started with classical guitar (self taught) about 40 years ago. I got to a pretty creditable standard on-and-off over the years, even though most of the opportunities to play have been on the bass. I taught myself to sight-read on bass about 30 years ago and if I chose (and had a complaisant enough wife) I could work every night.

Anyway, I digress: about a year ago I finally got round to engaging a classical guitar teacher. He visits once a fortnight and we crank away at the various exercises. I took Grade 4 performance in April, Grade 5 theory in June and we are working towards Grade 5 performance this November.

Has it made a difference? I think it has. The theory test has confirmed that I understand the basics of music theory (it's about the same as a GCSE apparently). The various exercises have definitely improved my control and timing on the classical guitar - and the vital thing is that the fingering exercises: you know, [i]i, m, a, p[/i] have made a real difference to my control when playing the bass pizzicato (which is what most bass playing turns out to be.)

I would definitely recommend that you get a teacher for something technical like learning to use a bow. The other stuff will definitely help you in unexpected ways in my experience.

Best of luck with it, anyway. OF