Why become a member? ×

Can you shed any light on the bass i have? Charvel.

Kevstein

Hi all,

I was just wondering if anyone can share any information on my bass. I believe its just a cheap starter bass but just wanted to know anything else about it.

Its a black Charvette by Charvel 4 string bass. It has a pointy headstock. And i believe its from about 1989 or so. Thats all the knowledge i have on it, maybe not enough for you to know what im on about but ill get pics up at some point.

What like are the quality/sound off them?

I am just thinking of getting a new one but due to my little knowledge i dont know how the one i have is rated.

I have been looking at the Epiphone Tobias (toby) IX Deluxe & also the Ibanez GSR200.

The stuff i play consists of styles like Metallica, Rammstein, Slipknot and other similar bands. I have played in groups before and can play but im a beginner.

Any help, recommendations or advice, is greatly appreciated.

Cheers, Kev.

Cheers, some useful information there. And GregBass, yeh identical to the white one in the photo. Mine is red though.

I thought it might have been a cheapy beginner model, but as i bought it second hand i wasnt sure, paid £50 for it about 10 years ago, so not too bad id say considering it was like new.

[quote name='dlloyd' timestamp='1375702801' post='2164400']
They were Charvel's budget range around the early 1990s. Similar to the Squier situation. They were viewed as beginner guitars.
[/quote]

Yes, in short.

From the few I've seen, not bad players. I've always had a soft spot for the old Charvels, some great guitars :)

After a bit of research i have found out that it is a Charvette by Charvel model 400 bass. Made in Japan and theyre supposed to be really good value for money. Think they were $400 new.