Why become a member? ×

New Youtube Double Bass Lessons

geoffbassist

Hi Geoff, I am new to double bass (2 days in!) although I've played bass guitar on and off (mostly on) for nearly 40 years. I've only briefly perused your lessons, but from what little I've seen I think they will be right up my street. Thanks for all the time and effort which you must have put into it :)

[quote name='Bob G' timestamp='1421452331' post='2661617']
Hi Geoff, I am new to double bass (2 days in!) although I've played bass guitar on and off (mostly on) for nearly 40 years. I've only briefly perused your lessons, but from what little I've seen I think they will be right up my street. Thanks for all the time and effort which you must have put into it :)
[/quote]

Hey Bob, thanks, I really appreciate that and I hope you enjoy your new bass :-)

[quote name='stingrayPete1977' timestamp='1421509206' post='2662101']
Excellent as ever Geoff, I loved the walking in thumb position around 14.30, brilliant! OK I am off to practice, I promise :)
[/quote]

Great mate, I hope you're doing well Pete! Cheers Geoff :-)

Loving the bow work Geoff! :D , I am using my misery stick more and more during my practice sessions and I am getting better, I do find it hard to 'start' the strings on mine, how would you rate the Zyex to my Spiro weichs and your regular Evah Pirazzi weichs for arco? I am still learning how much and how little rosin to add and I haven't put any on for a while with better results if anything, Owens advice of tilting the bow at the bass bash helped me a lot (Thanks Owen :) ) and I have a lesson coming up with Jake fairly soon if the planets line up so I will make some screeching noises for him then, I like the deeper sound (to my ears) that your bass has normally compared to mine but then the clarity and brightness is probably best for a novice like me?

Thanks again, Pete.

Edited by stingrayPete1977

[quote name='stingrayPete1977' timestamp='1421852881' post='2665791']