Why become a member? ×

New Light weight Vs Heavy Cabs

PauBass

Not sure the post title is right but I didn't know what to call it :rolleyes:

Anyway, I might be changing my rig soon and I wanted to ask about the new lightweight cabs that have now become so popular. I'm not referring to any particular brand, I just want some info/feedback to make sure I'm making and inform and right decision.

I have read how powerful and how good sounding some of these cabs are but, as I have no previous experience with any of these new lighweight cabs I rather ask before pulling the trigger.

I'm used to big powerful cabs, Bergantino NV610 and NV412 that give plenty of volume and an amazing tone.
Can these new cabs, usually 2x12 and 2x15, really compete in volume with the likes of the mentioned Bergantinos?

I hope I'm not opening a can of worms here, it is not my intention, I'm just after some advice, these cabs cost a lot of money.

[quote name='MacDaddy' timestamp='1377183469' post='2184478']
come to a bass bash and try out as many cabs as possible, and see for yourself :)
[/quote]

If I could I would but, unfortunately I work a lot of weekends and since I have been on Basschat I haven't been able to attend any of them :(

[quote name='PauBass' timestamp='1377183565' post='2184479']
If I could I would but, unfortunately I work a lot of weekends and since I have been on Basschat I haven't been able to attend any of them :(
[/quote]

Bu99er.

Well my experience is yes. I've had all kinds of heavy and currently have a Tech Soundsystems 2x12 which is an easy one hand lift. It can cope with ridiculous levels of volume and sounds good to me. I favour a bass sound that has plenty of bottom end without sounding muffled with boosted low mids to cut through.

I gig with Happy Jack who has various Barefaced cabs, he never has lack of volume trouble, and quite often sounds rather nice despite his preference for flats :P