Why become a member? ×

I'm looking for a 3/4 double bass - any useful suggestions

Marc S

Hi there
I'm new to this forum, and already I've seen some useful info on here
Cheers to all those helpful fellow bass folk on here :)

Here goes,
I've been playing bass guitar for quite a few years
With a big gap in the middle when I got married, had a son, got divorced etc

I bought a Stagg EUB a year back and I really like it
Now I'd like to get an acoustic DB (3/4)
I've been trawling around the ads / ebay etc but there don't seem to be any in South Wales
apart from 1 in a music shop in Cardiff - and that's overpriced

I was looking at secondhand, but they all crop up miles away
The sellers want paying first, before you've even tried the instrument etc

I was just wondering what experiences anyone has had, good or bad
from the likes of people on the net like gear4music / amazon etc?

on G4M, they've got basses for around £360
are these made in China? are they any good?

At the moment, I don't want to spend a fortune....
I'm enjoying the Stagg, but I'd really like that rich, warm sound you only get from an acoustic DB

Any suggestions or ideas welcome
Apologies if this has been asked too many times :)

Marc

Edited by Marc S

I can probably summarise the answers you'd find spread across various forum posts as follows:

Don't buy a Gear4Music bass, they're not any good (not a personal opinion, never played one, but its the overwhelming view I've come across on forums)
If you're going to buy new and mail order and on a budget, Thomann and Gedo are reliable, good to deal with and sell decent instruments, though the cheaper ones are made in China and less well regarded as such (due to quality control mainly, you can still get good ones)