Why become a member? ×

Finding the perfect double bass? (Bryant, Jay Haide, Upton) (£5,500) Limit.

SevenSeas

Dear Bass Chatters,

These threads have come up a lot but obviously as time passes new double basses options are available!

I'm going through the exciting but painful process of finding a double bass (hopefully that will last me a very long time, I would like to say it would the bass I will be using for the next 10 years minimum (as I'll never see this sort of money when i'm a student).

Originally I thought I was going to try out Paul Bryants Soloist model, be completely made up, pay him and been eternally happy. (however this might not happen or I might love it and It will be fine)

Therefore I need to try out some more options that are available;

The Jay Haide Panorma Model, (probably by Martyn Bailey) seems another good options, anyone got any opinions?

The other option a bit more crazy but I have heard very good things about Upton Basses, acquiring one of these basses would be difficult? (Has anyone had one imported from the shop all the way over to the UK) So I could try one?
(Brescian Model) http://www.uptonbass.com/Upton-Bass-Hybrid-Semi-Deluxe-Flatback-Double-Bass/

I have relatives who live quite close (10 hours.. in america terms) to the shop, so maybe slightly crazy. I could fly over and try the bass (maybe have a mini holiday as my relatives are there... making it worth while) then flying back.

Budget is £5.500. That is the Maximum I could go.

I play mainly jazz but still play with the bow, so would like a bass that has the potential to do both well.

Problem with importing a DB from the States is paying import duty taxes + the joys and expense of having a bass in transit! What are your thoughts about a [url="http://www.thomasmartin.co.uk/instrumentsforsale/martindoublebassesforsale"]Thomas Martin[/url] bass ? I think that you may just slide in there with your budget !