Why become a member? ×

Wooden End Pins

benbastin

I've been using one for over 6 months now and I love it. It adds volume to my bass and rounds everything.

I am thinking about making some to sell and was wondering if anyone would be interested. They will be custom length of course, and possibly in a choice of woods. Definitely walnut but perhaps some other choices too.
They will be standard fit to 10mm end pin units, but I could do 8mm and bigger if people need.

If anyone is interested please send me a message. I'm trying to tot up materials and things, but will be able to let any interested parties know soon.

Thanks

Ben

What i'm proposing is a little bigger than a drum stick so as to be strong as possible.
With a steel rod out of the top of it 10mm in diameter to go into the bass. The top of the wooden pin would have a metal collar to prevent the wood spliting and the a rubber foot to stop it all slipping.

Would people be interested in different woods then? I'm thinking walnut oak and ash would be pretty good contenders. Perhaps Sapele too.

Check out the late great Dennis Irwin, legendary NYC jazz player. He had a wooden endpin on his old Amefican Standard ply: that's what I'd go for. You can check out a video on his bass on YouTube, there are a few seconds on his endpin. Sorry cant find you the link just now. Great idea though

Yeah similar to that. That is from the german company that makes them. As far as I can tell no one is making them in the UK, and no one is making them with a choice of woods either.
So hopefully there will be some interest. Start production next week. Any one interested please PM me

Thanks

It'd be nice to see a photo or video once they are ready. I'd give it a go at least to try it out. you could even have a couple going around for the basschatters to try like Daf does with innovation strings and Ehrlund p'ups. All the best to you, I love an entrepreneurial spirit me.