Why become a member? ×

Anyone play rock and pop on DB?

randythoades

Hi all, just a silly question to see if anyone plays rock and/or pop on a DB in preference over electric bass?
I have been learning DB (on an EUB) for 3 or 4 months (playing mainly blues and rock and roll) and enjoying it greatly, but currently splitting my playing time between my DB practice and jamming with friends using electric bass. I thought that maybe if I just did DB, it would help me progress quicker on the instrument and improve my intonation. We tend to play soft rock / pop covers such as Bryan Adams, Sheryl Crow, Eric Clapton, nothing too strenuous on bass so I figure I can modify my lines to fit around DB instead. Will broach the subject with the lads next time we meet...

It would also mean I could sell off some of my electric bass gear to fund the purchase of an acoustic DB (which is probably the real reason to be honest... :lol: )

Just interested to see if anyone else does or has done the same.

[quote name='TPJ' timestamp='1390496895' post='2346064']
Yep, we had a trio of acoustic guitar, DB and cajon playing Rolling Stones to Kylie. I never thought it would work but the crowds loved it. I think if you play familiar songs, your brain fills in any missing parts. It works well.
[/quote]
Excellent. Just the thing I need to hear. Sometimes you think you must be crazy, but I think it could work for me too...

Yep, we used to do a set of originals (alt-Americana apparently), and then a set of pop/rock, tracks we did included Fans (Kings of Leon), Round Here (Counting Crows), For What It's Worth (Buffalo Springfield), When You Were Young (Killers), Wild Nights (Van Morrison), Dancing In the Moonlight (Thin Lizzy), Bad Things (Jace Everett), You Can Bring Me Flowers (Ray Lamontagne), I could go on. I found a mag pickup at the end of the fingerboard made life a lot easier in terms of both amplifying the instrument and getting a sound that fitted with the tracks.