Why become a member? ×

Sight Reading Help?

JuliusGroove

I mentioned this on another thread the other day... I am by no means an expert so my methods may not be best practice, however I've found reading a lot easier since I started reading the intervals instead of the notes.

If a tune is in G, I use the shape for G major and just read the intervals from one note to the next, ie if the second note is on the next line up from the G I just read it as Two scale intervals above the G... I don't think, oh thats a B, I just read the interval then move on to the next note. Means when I get to an F I don't have to remember to sharpen it as the scale shape is already all the correct notes in the key.

Works for me, but I'm sure others will know better ways :)

Edited by CamdenRob

[quote name='Bilbo' timestamp='1392631970' post='2370733']
What is your reading practising regime?
[/quote][quote name='Westie9' timestamp='1392634671' post='2370781']
Small baby steps, one step at a time. Eventually you'll start to recognise the shape in front of you and it will become second nature.

Same question as Bilbo above: How much time are you dedicating to it?
[/quote]

You guys could probably help me too ! I can read the notes in good time but the problem for me lies in rhythms. I'm not very comfortable with subdivisions and how to work them out. I've learnt stuff like havona, teen town which makes use of the sixteenth note divisions but thats all from ear so i've continuously stopped and worked it out. Now i play them without thinking but i couldnt write down what i was playing, if that made any sense?