Why become a member? ×

Begineers Bass Guitar

nmcintyre2

Hi everyone I am new to this forum and to bass guitar. I have been playing electric guitar for a couple of years and have a few fenders/gretschs and I am really enjoy it and have come along quite well. I have decided that I would also like to be able to play bass. Lots of the music I like is indie/indie rock (The Smiths , the Cure , The Arctic Monkeys) , mod music (The Jam, The Kinks , The who) and ocassionally some punk such as The Clash , SLF and The Sex pistols. I'd rarely be playing any metal or rock music ever. As I am only 16 my exams are coming up so I feel that it would be better to wait until summer to buy another instrument as I don't want it to distract me from my studies but I'm asking now so I can research the basses and decide which one suits me best. . I live in Derry in the north of Ireland so there isn't many places to try out basses. I have no problem going used as long as its in good condition. Can anybody suggest a decent bass and amp I could get for under £400. Thanks in Advance

There are a couple of threads on here concerning budget Jazz basses from Jack & Danny via DV247 like this http://www.dv247.com/guitars/jandd-jb-vintage-1975-bass-guitar-black--200784 and the Harley Benton via Thomann like this http://www.thomann.de/gb/harley_benton_hbb1975_na.htm and buyers seem pretty happy with their purchases. I hear that Laney and Peavey make pretty decent budget bass combos, I'd recommend at least 100W output so maybe something like this http://www.gear4music.com/Guitar-and-Bass/Peavey-MAX112-MKII-Bass-Combo-Amplifier/U6R and either of the Jazzes get you in for £400 new.

Hi, and welcome to the forum, and to the world of bass
I'd go with your feelings re your exams at the moment, if I were you
I too would want to be playing with / experimenting with a new instrument
..... stick to your studies for now,
and treat yourself afterwards!