Why become a member? ×

Thomann DBs any good as a first bass?

Buzzy

I'm looking to buy my first DB, I've been renting a Stentor for a couple of months. Has anyone ever bought a DB from Thomann ?
I've got a budget of around 1K and wondered if buying a Thomann for about £700 then taking it to a luthier for an upgrade would be a good idea.

Edited by Buzzy

Not tried one personally, but when I was looking for my first DB
most folk on here seemed to say they were pretty good
The advice seemed to be to stay away from G4M,
but that Thomann were OK

A lot of folk on here really rate Geddo in Germany though
I've read several BC'ers who are more than pleased with their DB
and they'll set it up the way you want too

Here's a link to one of their DB's on ebay

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Double-Bass-redbrown-3-4-size-new-/310697743781?pt=UK_Musical_Instruments_Sting_Instruments&hash=item48570755a5

Good luck, and happy shopping :)

Marc

They are fine as starter instruments and, yes, an upgrade on bridge and strings would be a good idea. Alternatives include Gedo Musik's basses which are similarly priced (I started on one priced at around £1400 but they are perfectly credible at lower prices). If you want to hear my cheap, nasty bass (irony, it's lovely), check out 'Calypso Zoom', 'Speak Now', 'Estate', 'Wee' or 'Caravan' on my Soundccloud page.