Why become a member? ×

help me decide if i should buy this upright bass

Mr. BassmanPT

fully carved, ebony board, adjustable bridge, gig bag, spirocore strings and realist pickup (in need of a repair in the cable). the seller says it bought it brand new 11 years ago and in all this time it never got a repair.

he also says it weight is less than his fender jazz 4 string.

other than that, he includes in the deal a carbon fiber "pivot" for lack of a better word (i never played upright so i am still learning the technical words).

anyway, here you go with 2 videos of this upright in action.

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sChmJXSETis&feature=youtu.be[/media]

[url="https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=1700278155600&set=vb.1497302033&type=3"]https://www.facebook...97302033&type=3[/url]

trip aside (maximum 100 euros), i can buy it for 3000 euros with all the accessories included in the deal. what you think? i am asking because all uprights seem good to me and i do not want to mess this up.

i asked for how much did the upright cost and got this:

- 2750 for the upright brand new
- 130 for the pivot + 80 for mounting it
- 220 for the pickup + 50 for mounting it
- 160 for the strings
- 40 for wheels
- 100 for the bag
- 60 for setup
- TOTAL: 3590 euros

i should also add that the seller seems to be a very nice guy so i am not questining him at all, i am just in need of experienced opinions!

all is subjective but want your opinion anyway!

now pictures! should the fingerboard make a perfect curve? (see the pictures)

Edited by Mr. BassmanPT

The photos are odd. In three of them, there is no adjustable bridge (and in two of these a Realist pickup is fitted). In another photo, there is an adjustable bridge with a Full Circle pickup fitted.

So he's selling you an adjustable bridge with a Realist pickup? Make sure this is the case, because it seems from the photos that he hasn't used a combination of Realist + adjustable bridge.