Why become a member? ×

NPAVAD (New No Longer Prototype British Built All Valve Amp Day)

JPJ

[quote name='Happy Jack' timestamp='1394707096' post='2394174']
[color=#282828][font=helvetica, arial, sans-serif]How about something that doesn't need two roadies and a fork-lift truck to move?[/font][/color]
[/quote]

Half the problem with valve amps is everyone (as evidenced by many of the responses here) thinks you need a 200-400w amp to play typical venues, but provided you have the option of PA support for bigger venues you just don't IMO, 100w would probably be fine (I have a 50w Traynor BassMaster that would probably be ample for pub gigs through an efficient cab).

The weight of tube amps is directly related to the power output due to the huge transformers required for big power output, so if weight is a concern you're much better having a cranked 15kg 100W amp than a 35kg 400w amp running on "2".

Cranked tube amps sound better anyway, getting the power stage cooking a bit is the whole point! :P[size=4] [/size]

Certainly, when I was gigging with a 100 watt valve amp (using a 2x12" with decent efficiency), I never got it to the point where the power stage was audibly breaking up. My band is fairly moderate in volume though, with a laid back drummer and guitarists using 1x12" valve combos of 15 watts and 40 watts. I sometimes wonder whether I could get away with a smaller head of 30 or 50 watts with this band (partly because I fancy building one when funds allow).
With that in mind, a good 200 watt valve amp should totally drive a loud rock band with the right cabs, and 400 watts is major stadium and festival stage stuff.

the old rule of thumb was along the lines of twice the power of the guitarsits amp wasn't it? so if they've got 100w marshalls type thingies then a 200w bass amp (all valve of course) would be sufficient?

a similar rule of thumb between all valve and solid state bass amps is you need 10x the power to get a similar volume with solid state yes?