Why become a member? ×

New player from Essex

Heket

Hi everyone,

My name is Anita, I'm from Billericay in Essex and I'm completely new to bass. Well, I've played a bit of Rocksmith! I've just signed up for bass lessons which should start in a couple of weeks. I'm excited! I already have been playing guitar for about a year and a half now but have always had a great fondness for bass and rhythm. Last year I asked for a bass for my birthday and after extensive research got this:

Musicman SUB Sterling ray 4. Not sure how their naming system works, but I think I got it right.

I don't have an amp yet. I know pretty much nothing about basses or bass amps, so for now I'm using my tiny guitar amp which can do both until I've researched and played more.

I LOVE bass and grooves and if I were ever to jam with others I'd want to do it with the bass but I have a huge problem - I have severe rheumatoid arthritis. It stopped me from daring to learn to play guitar for a long time but one day I just said "screw it!" and now I'm saying the same about bass. It's well controlled (during some months of the year) but it's very limiting. I can only play with pick and maximum play time I can have per day is about 15 minutes and then I can't play any guitar either. I'm hoping that partly will be a case of building up strength, which is why I want lessons - so my teacher can show me how best to use that time.

This is a big step for me because I completely freeze up when playing instruments in front of anyone (can't even play at home unless alone/with headphones) but somehow with the bass it just feels... right. Right? I'm sure you know what I mean B).

Sorry, that's a bit long! I look forward to reading and learning all to do with bass :)

Welcome Anita
Lots of Essex basschatters on here and we're mostly friendly and helpful.
There is lots of useful links and stuff in theory and technique. If in doubt just ask and someone will know!
Great looking bass you have there.