Why become a member? ×

On stage monitoring woe...

leroybasslines

Hi guys,

I've been playing upright for about 5 years now having been exclusively electric before that. I play it in a wide range of musical settings - jazz, soul, folk, country etc - and often struggle to hear myself on stage but by and large manage to get through ok.

Last night I did a gig with a band that I play regularly with. It's a kind of Americana, nu-folk vibe. We often do quite raucous gigs but last night, as often seems to happen, the venue's sound man insisted on mixing us more a like a rock band - loads of bass drum, v high stage levels etc. I had a word with him and told him that I couldn't hear anything of my bass and that I couldn't get my amp higher without suffering terrible feedback (I already felt like I was wrestling a rubber crocodile to stop my bass resonating and exploding into a million matchsticks!). He said he'd drop things a bit and stick some of the bass through a nearby wedge monitor, but it was still nowhere near a level that I could hear a note that I played. So I spent the gig trying to gauge what I was playing from the indistinct rumble coming from front-of-house and the vibration of the bass under my hands.

To be fair to the sound guy, it was an evening with about 5 bands and a very tight schedule; not a lot of time available to be making nuanced tweaks.

However, this has happened enough times now for me to want to do something to help myself out on stage. My technique is nowhere near good enough to trust that I'm playing with correct intonation (as I said, I'm an electric player bluffing it really) and I haven't got the budget for a decent in-ear monitoring system.

Do any of you guys have tips or tricks that might help? I generally use my PJB Suitcase as an amp in smaller venues or as a monitor at larger gigs. My bass has a David Gage Realist pickup that most soundmen use via the Suitcase's DI. Any advice at all would be most appreciated!

Thanks!