Why become a member? ×

Does everyone erm ....know their scales?

gub

In a word: no!

Well... I'm discovering that I know some scales because they sound right, but not because I know they are scales.

I get the basic major/minor but not much beyond that. Although I do understand their usefulness and have set myself the goal of learning more.

[quote name='Skol303' timestamp='1396563145' post='2415262']
In a word: no!

Well... I'm discovering that I know some scales because they sound right, but not because I know they are scales.

I get the basic major/minor but not much beyond that. Although I do understand their usefulness and have set myself the goal of learning more.
[/quote]

That's what happened to me. A couple of years ago I finally decided to sit down and actually learn scales and theory properly. It turns out I'd already figured most of it out just based on what sounded good.

I certainly don't know them all. I started practising scales regularly when I started learning the double bass (so I suppose I went 15+ years without practising them at all) but to be honest I get more familiar with them while I'm playing with other people. Especially with crap guitarists - I recommend everybody join a band with a crap guitarist so you'll be forced to make the entertaining stuff happen. Necessity is the mother of invention and all that. :)

[quote name='skankdelvar' timestamp='1396570432' post='2415331']
I'm physically repulsive so I learnt the Enigmatic scale so I could pull chicks.

Save your money; it doesn't work.
[/quote]

Are you certain of that..? (... [i]taps side of nose enigmatically[/i]...).

[quote name='skankdelvar' timestamp='1396570432' post='2415331']
I'm physically repulsive so I learnt the Enigmatic scale so I could pull chicks.

Save your money; it doesn't work.
[/quote]

I suspect the problem might be, referring to the fairer sex as chicks. It's just not very groovy Skank :D