Why become a member? ×

Hi from Hamilton, ON - home of the "F" Bass!

eBassSix

Hi everyone,

I realize this is a UK website/forum and as such, I've seen only British members here so far. Hopefully I'll still be welcome as a Canadian... but if it helps, my parents emmigrated from the UK, so my background is British. My dad's from south Wales and my mum was from the south of England. All of our relatives are in the UK and I've visited many times and spent a lot of my summers there, while growing up... travelling all over England, south Wales and visiting Scotland as well.

So... I've been playing bass since my early 20s, after starting out on piano. I studied piano throughout my childhood and into my teen years, completing the grade ten Royal Conservatory course. However, classical was not really for me, and the piano wasn't really [i]my[/i] instrument, like the bass is. I'm a naturally rhythmic, funky person - if you know what I mean, and I'm sure you do. ;) My musical tastes are pretty varied, but mostly I listen to and play jazz, funk, r&b and reggae... and even some classical once in a while when I'm playing on my own at home, just for the fun of it! :D

While I have gigged steadily in the past and recorded in the studio, etc., I'm sad to say I haven't played much in years. Too many serious life events have gotten in the way and stressed me out - I've had a lot to deal with. I intend to pick it up very seriously again though, because I'm like a fish out of water, with my BASS! (Pun intended.)

Oh, I just spoke with George Furlanetto on the phone a couple of hours ago. There's a member on here who has one of his basses... [url="http://basschat.co.uk/user/410-geoffbassist/"]geoffbassist[/url]! If you see this, hi! :) George couldn't remember what the outcome was, when your bass had that unfortunate accident on the motorway. He says he thought you got a replacement neck, is that right?