Why become a member? ×

Sustain, but without the distortion?

rk7

Hello effects people.

I'm a novice at this, but I want a pedal that will hold a clean bass note, or chord, longer than my bass will deliver, until I play the next note or chord. Not for an indefinite time, but for a 'wee while'.

I've looked at the EHX stuff, the Little Big Muff, and the Freeze, and I'm not convinced either will do this. The LBM adds distortion, which I certainly don't want, and the Freeze will hold a note until the footswitch is pressed? Excuse me if I have misunderstood this.

Am I looking for something impossible?

RK

[quote name='xgsjx' timestamp='1397498978' post='2424539']
Try a compressor (or ten) before you buy one. Your other option is an Ebow,
[/quote]

Thanks for the steer, but I live in the 'frozen north', and opportunities to try stuff just don't come up.

I may need to take a punt on a Soul Preacher.

RK

[quote name='BigRedX' timestamp='1397499072' post='2424542']
I've never been able to get my Ebow to work reliably on a bass.
[/quote]
I couldn't either, but one of my friends uses his efficiently (I suppose it's practice & patience).

[quote name='rk7' timestamp='1397500363' post='2424563']
Thanks for the steer, but I live in the 'frozen north', and opportunities to try stuff just don't come up.

I may need to take a punt on a Soul Preacher.

RK
[/quote]
Might be worth trying the second hand effects forum on here, that way you wont lose money if it's not what you want.

[quote name='BigRedX' timestamp='1397499072' post='2424542']
I've never been able to get my Ebow to work reliably on a bass.
[/quote]
Me neither, partly because the grooves don't line up with the strings on a bass. Compressor it is then (cough) ↓↓↓

[quote name='JapanAxe' timestamp='1397503503' post='2424622']
Me neither, partly because the grooves don't line up with the strings on a bass. Compressor it is then (cough) ↓↓↓
[/quote]