Why become a member? ×

Should I get this bass if I'm a beginner?

SaveTheBand

Hey guys! I'm new to Bass guitar and I decided to buy a Westone Thunder I Bass guitar for £125 from guitarguitar. It's a japanese guitar made in the 1980s. It's in near mint condition and just looks fantastic. But I'm not very experienced in the world of bass so pleas advise me on if I should get it or not!

Many thanks, Alfie

Yes.good solid bass at a good price. Youd struggle to find anything much better for the money assuming its in good condition and if you dont like it you sjould be able to sell it on for similar money. I hope you enjoy it.

These are cracking instruments, made in Japan to a high standard by Matsumoku (I have a Westone Spectrum LX bass). The Thunder I is a passive Precision type bass so about the simplest type of instrument. Have a look at this great website http://www.westone.info/

As with any bass, just make sure it is set up right to get the best out of it. Neck truss rod, action, pickup height, intonation and off you go! If you are not sure about it go to the Fender website and download the bass owners manual, it has all the details and how to make the adjustments. I guess Westone many have the same available.

Cheers,
Rich

[quote name='rogerstodge' timestamp='1397765355' post='2427267']
West- tone and yes great basses i learnt on one and look where it got me !!!
[/quote]
[quote name='Turk' timestamp='1397767798' post='2427308']
Same here !! :)
[/quote]

Well there you have it - a Westone Thunder is your passport to fame, fortune and an endless supply of groupies! :D

Welcome to the world of bass! Prepare yourself to not get laid!

Not played one before tbh, but the most important thing is what you think of it. Doesn't matter if you are a beginner or Billy Sheehan. If you like the feel and playability of it, you thrash that thing!