Why become a member? ×

Should I get this bass if I'm a beginner?

SaveTheBand

[quote name='icastle' timestamp='1397850980' post='2428033']
Perhaps not the prettiest models to have come out of Matsumoku, but eminently playable and well constructed.
[/quote]

I actually like the look of them - I'd much rather have a Westone Thunder 1A and a few hundred quid in the bank than a bass with a fancy name on the headstock made of exotic woods. I was really sad to let mine go when I damaged my back as the models I owned then were too heavy to wear for any length of time. To my surprise and delight I recently discovered that the 1A version 3 weighs under 8.5lbs and now have a matching pair of fretted and fretless and a big smile. The version 3 also has Magnabass pickup, which is voiced differently to the split coil P style, and I prefer it. 22 frets, better high mass bridge, slightly simplified controls - win all round.

[quote name='Weststarx' timestamp='1397768727' post='2427328']
Welcome to the world of bass! Prepare yourself to not get laid!

Not played one before tbh, but the most important thing is what you think of it. Doesn't matter if you are a beginner or Billy Sheehan. If you like the feel and playability of it, you thrash that thing!

A lot of people get caught up in buying what other people consider to be good (Guilty myself - I ended up hating the thing!) so always go with your heart and what's good for you.
[/quote] +1 great advice :)

[quote name='Paul S' timestamp='1397895230' post='2428258']