Why become a member? ×

Advice needed about Gut strings

I am new to the gut string. I have been given a set to try what I am told are a gut strings.

Should old plain gut strings (Approx. 50 years old) show bad 'frayed' windings? I have a plain G & D which are [b]smooth[/b] all the way down--not a 'hair' (If it is hair) out of place. The seem to be uniformaly wound--like a taped string--copper in colour. Would that be gut?The A & E appear to be metal--I am not sure if it has a core.

Should used gut strings show signs of wear on the strings?--that is frayed strings in need of maintenance.

Your expertise most welcome.

50 years old?!?!? Joke I take it.
I'd say a tad of wear and tear is forgivable then.
If they are not regularly clipped and oiled, gut strings do fray. I oil mine regularly and they still fray a bit. Guts are also not meant to be put on and off a bass regularly: that process does mangle the windings at peg end.
Honestly though: 50 years old???
If they are in pristine condition after that time they may never have been used in which case there will be no fraying, so in theory it is possible. Put bass gut strings in google and look at the images: they should look like yours.

Edited by Rabbie

This sounds to me like a set of Cordes Lambert Gut Twins. Wound E and A, no sign of fraying on the D and G sounds like nylon.

I've got a used gut D and G and they are fraying at the ends and also showing some 'hairs' separating from them further up the string. I'm certain they aren't decades old!

50 years ago they had no nylon strings. If they look like gut and they are really 50 years old they are gut. Unless whoever gave you them told you a porky (or a genuine wrong info) and gave you a set of weedwackers.

Sorry gentleman--could not post pic.--due to resizing issue.