Why become a member? ×

What kit do I need?

Leonard Smalls

I'm pretty new to all this home studio lark...
I've got a Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 which comes with Ableton Lite, which I'm slwly coming to terms with.
However, as I'm quite enjoying it, I might need more kit...
Frinstance, I'd either like a limitless (!) drum sample library which I can then splice together to make drum tracks. Failing that, an easy way to make decent drums, bearing in mind that I'm not a drummer!
Not only that, but I'd like a sensible means of controlling virtual instruments, and preferably some way of sequencing.
As I got as far as grade 7 piano I'm OK on a keyboard, but don't really know what else I'll need. But I'm not made of money...
All thoughts greatly appreciated.

A midi keyboard controller is useful, and can get bought very cheaply.

I have a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, it's very nice.

I don't use Ableton, if you have a mac of some description, then you should have Garageband which is excellent, considering it's free, that has tons of drum and percussion loops.

There are loads of drum samples about , I have used drum machines , Drumcore 3 (free) , and currently playing with EZ drummer which was about £20.

I use Reaper as a DAW it is well supported with free plug ins and tutorials , and boy do I need them :blush:

I'm going to stick with Ableton for the mo as I don't want to learn another programme - my upgrade to the full version.
And I thought EZ drummer was £90ish? Do you need a special input device or does it have presets you can add to?
What about makes of keyboard, especially with sequencers on board?
Would I be better off just getting a drum machine?

^^^^^

These days you don't need a keyboard/midi controller with a sequencer onboard,
The DAW is the sequencer.
As for a Drum machine, same again, all programming can be done within the DAW.
This would just involve 'painting' in the notes, or indeed just using midi files.