Why become a member? ×

Korg rack tuner pitchblack pro

Jonesy64

Anyone using one?

Thinking about getting one but bit worried that the blue strobe strip will be a bit too much of a cheesy light show going on behind me while I am playing!!

I assume it is still in a tuning mode while playing unlike a pedal tuner that is either off or on?

I've been using one for 4-5 months. It's effective, easy to see and use so can't fault it. It's always on when you are playing and there are different display modes to choose from. I don't think it looks cheesy at all (IMO) but, to be fair, it's behind me so I'm not looking at it all of the time. ;-)

[quote name='Jonesy64' timestamp='1399933017' post='2449215']
Thanks Gaz, so does it just settle down into one of the blue strips of light flitting back and forth across the display it you are in regular mode?

Turn around and have a look please :-)
[/quote]

I use the regular tuning mode as per the first option on the video in the earlier post which has a static green line and moving blue line which disappears when you are bang on the note. The other two are strobe type modes that were too 'busy' for my taste. ;)

• 2 months later...

Can anyone help me out with the Pitchblack Pro please?

Looking to order one tomorrow for my rack with the intention of downsizing my pedalboard and I'm not 100% sure how to wire it up. At the moment my signal chain is as follows:

Bass -> Rack Wireless -> Pedal Tuner -> Effects -> Amp

Should I be able to do the following? Bass -> Rack Wireless -> connected to input 2 at the back of the Korg with a small patch cable then output to -> Effects -> Amp?

Works in theory but Input 2 at the back is supposedly line level whereas Input 1 at the front is instrument level. I want all cabling to be done round the back if possible, would using a line level input cause me problems?

I'd like to know a little more about the practicalities of the Pitchblack Pro too, and hook one up in a similar way to Tom's idea.