Why become a member? ×

Tone pots and caps

halibut

Hi,

I've got an Epiphone Thunderbird IV with passive electrics. It's wired Volume, Volume, Tone (neck pickup volume, bridge pickup volume, both fed into the tone pot [url="http://images.gibson.com/Lifestyle/Support/Files/Schematics/BAT4.pdf"]http://images.gibson...matics/BAT4.pdf[/url]). It's B500k on both vols and A500k on the tone with a 100V 0.068uF cap.

I'm finding it a little "dark" sounding, so I've been reading about tone pots and caps and wanted to check I've got the right end of the stick.

With the tone pot turned all the way up (brightest tone) am I right in thinking that that's as bright as it gets? The cap with the tone all the way up has a negligible effect, and the cap only effects the tone as the tone pot is turned down? Swapping the cap will make no difference, and the only way to get it brighter is to increase the size of the pot?

H.

Edited by halibut

I'm no expert so, just for curiosity's sake, this does interest me. As you say, changing the capacitor on the tone pot only takes effect once you start turning the tone down and in your case won't make it any brighter with the tone fully open. From what I've just read, if I've got this correct, if you increase from a 500K to a 1M ohm for the volume pots it will sound brighter at maximum volume for each pickup but the minute you back off the volume you'll see a sudden decrease in treble, and this is where a treble bleed capacitor comes in. If you're lacking treble with the volume backed off a little for the pickups then maybe try a treble bleed capacitor with the existing volume pots?

Edited by HowieBass

On a passive circuit there is always a little bit of top-end bleed to earth through the tone potentiometer and capacitor. However changing the values of the components is only going make a slight difference to the sound.